An image of the front cover of the hardback book The Story Orchestra - The Carnival of the Animals
A close up image of one of the illustrations inside the book showing the scene of the elephant march in the tale based on the music of the Carnival of the Animals..
An image of the back cover of the hardback book The Story Orchestra - The Carnival of the Animals

The Story Orchestra - Carnival of the Animals

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Discover the magical world of Carnival of the Animals in this musical reimagining of this celebrated suite for children – push the button in each breathtaking scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Camille Saint-Saëns’ score.

One day, two brothers discover a magical animal kingdom behind their bookcase. They are greeted by the royal lion with his shaggy mane; ask for directions from an old lonely tortoise; take a ride on some lumbering elephants; topple a skeleton of dinosaur bones; and swim among a shoal of shimmering fish. If only they could take them all home...

The book includes extracts from ‘The Swan’, ‘Aquarium’, ‘Fossils’, and ‘Finale’ (From Disney’s Fantasia) along with a totally new story to link the pieces together.

As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the suite’s music. At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Camille Saint-Saëns, with details about his composition of Carnival of the Animals. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. With The Story Orchestra keyboard sound books, children can play the famous melodies themselves with the sound of a real grand piano.
Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.

Suitable for readers 4-7 years.
Not for children under 3 years due to small parts.

Author: Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Notes for Mortals:
Publisher: Frances Lincoln Children's Books
ISBN: 9780711249523
Number of pages: 24
Dimensions: 27.31 x 1.27 x 31.12 cm
Published: 16/010/2018

Spin to win Spinner icon